Steps to Becoming a Licensed Driver
For students under the age of 18 the state of Illinois requires 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel (BTW) instruction and 6 hours of in car observation or 8 hours of private BTW instruction. Our classes are fully insured, licensed, certified and endorsed by the Office of the Secretary of State. Each classroom period is 2 hours long, and are held M-Th for four weeks or in the summer M-F (to match the summer school schedule). A BTW session lasts three hours and consists of one & a half hour of driving and one & a half hour of observation. We also offer a class that involves 8 hours of private behind the wheel, no observation is required. Per State requirements, up to 4 classroom times can be missed in a session but must be made up in other sessions in order for your student to qualify for their drivers license. You must complete the entire program of classroom and BTW within 9 months form the date of the first classroom lesson.
Step 1 - Turning 15
When your child turns 15 (or if they turn 15 by the end of the in-class instruction period) they can be enrolled in the driving class. They must also be able to provide a high school report card showing proof of 8 passing grades within the last two semesters. If you are home schooled, are an incoming freshman or cannot meet the grade requirements ,simply fill out a blue, yellow or pink sheet that can be found on our forms page. Please call us for more clarification.
Step 2 - Enroll in Class
Enroll in class either online, phone, fax, in person or mail. Make sure you have your report card or completed blue sheet for the first day of class.
Step 3 - Bring forms and start class
For the first day of class you should bring (all forms can be found on the Forms page):
- Black/blue and red pen
- Signed copy of the,Teen Program Contract
- Enrollment form if you signed up late or over the phone
- Payment for any balance due
- Proof of eight passing grades in the past two semesters or completed required form.
Please have one of the following items proving academic eligibility:
- Copy of report cards that shows 8 passing grades within the past 2 semesters OR
- Blue Form (form if you are an incoming freshman, or do not have a grading system with semesters) OR
- Yellow form (if you are home schooled) OR
- Pink Form (if you are in school but do not have the required grades)
Students will focus on learning the basic rules of the road and prepare for the written permit test.. They will receive the Rules of the Road Booklet to study in class but, due to Secretary of State's budget and time restrains, they are not always available for your child to keep. You can print one for home use by going to our forms page Per State of Illinois rules, a student is allowed to miss up to 4 classes within a session. All of which must be made up. If more than 4 classes are missed, per state law, the student is required to take the course again in its entirety.
Step 4 - Get driving permit
After completing 4 hours of class (2 days) your child will be able to take the permit test at the Drivers License Facility of your choice. Click here for locations. You will be required to bring the following items:
- Original copy of birth certificate or passport
- Eyeglasses or contact lenses if you wear them (you will be taking an eye test)
- Social Security Card
- A $20 check, cash or money order made out to "Secretary of State"
- Completed application form (they will receive this in class)
- Proof of where they live...something with their address on (report card, etc.)
- Proof of signature...something with their signature on (school ID, passport etc.)
Click here for acceptable ID requirements
Step 5- Schedule Behind the Wheel (BTW) times
Once your child has obtained their permit, and all class fees are paid, they can schedule their behind the wheel (BTW) portion of their class. We encourage you to schedule all your BTW sessions as soon as possible as our drive times fill up quite quickly. Our times are very flexible and we pick your child up at your house, work or school (within a reasonable distance). There are three ways to schedule your BTW, online, in class or over the phone. All BTW and classroom must be completed within 9 months of the first classroom date. During your BTW sessions your child will learn, among many other things the following:
Rules of the road
Basic driving skills
Controlling the car
Left and right turns
Parking on hills
Right of way
Reversing and backing up
Expressway and Highway driving
Merging and lane changing
Driving with confidence and a positive attitude
Tips and Forms for their permit and drivers license
Step 6 - Complete all State requirements
Your child will be required to meet these standards in order to take their final drivers exam:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction
- 6 BTW hours
- 6 Observation hours
- Or in lieu of points 2 and 3, 8 hours of private BTW instruction
- 50 hours of documented driving (10 of which must be a night)
- Be minimum age of 16
- Had your drivers permit for a minimum of 9 months
- Must have provided driving school with proof of grade eligibility.
Step 7 - Get your Drivers License
Once your child has completed the requirements and all fees due to Driving 4 Teens have been paid, we will send notification to the Secretary of State. They will then send, to your home, the required form for you to take your final test at the Driver Services Facility (this could take 3-4 weeks). Once you have received the Certification of Completion letter you will need to take the following items to the Drivers Services Facility:
- Certification of Completion Letter.
- Social Security Card
- Certified copy of your birth certificate
- Document showing current address (mail, bank statement, school transcript etc.)
- Instruction permit
- Valid insurance card
- Vehicle registration
- 50 hour certification form
Step 8 - Get high school credit for this class
Once the classroom portion is completed we will give you the necessary paperwork for you to bring to your school for high school credit.